SLEEPING PATTERNS

Sitting down this morning, I had a fairly clear idea of what I wanted to write about, but then I’ve just read it back and deleted the whole lot. Each paragraph contained a different idea and none of it really flowed in my mind, but then again would that have Mattered? Last week, I touched on the need to clear a few things out of my head so as to help with things like sleep; I think I’m now beginning to start that process properly.

It’s always nice to look forward to a break and to have some time away from the day to day routines. I’m certainly very grateful for what I have and am in the position to be able to work, but it’s also very important to look after yourself and to ensure that rest and recuperation is part of what you do. I’ve just planned some time off work which is going to be very welcome because I can, at least, concentrate on trying to readjust the body clock yet again. Ideally, it would be good to sort this out now, but due to the demands of the daily routine, it’s a hugely difficult thing to do; a bit like trying to pull up your socks when trying to run.

Sleep has again been a huge issue this week and one that has had me reading about the implications of getting too little shut eye. Yes, like any medical issue, if you look into it widely online then it can come up with all kinds of side affects and implications; you really need to check the source before accepting it’s validity.

The crux of the issue is that an adult needs at the very least 7 hours per night of unbroken sleep; well they say between 7 and 9. My average is around 4 to 4and a half hours per night; quite a way behind the recommended amount. Try to then add on a commute (3 times a week) and then a fairly intense and extremely busy job, where concentration is the key then the challenges become more testing.

Trying to manage the situation has always been an interesting affair; more of a fire fight than a proactive attack. I have, however, tried a number of techniques to combat the odd sleep patterns. Additionally, I have also tried some natural sleep remedies to help readjust and set a more supportive sleep pattern. Some have worked to a degree, but the problem is that getting off to sleep generally isn’t too bad; staying asleep is the issue. The varying times of a work routine doesn’t always help, but again it’s something that can and should be managed.

Two of the main sleep remedies; velarium and lavender give me quite severe headaches; something that adds rather than takes away from the problem. However, I am trying a couple of other things, that I hope will work.

Ultimately, the most important thing is your health and sometimes it is important to take more radical decisions to help protect that. I’m considering some ideas about work routine and have an aim for this year to become much fitter and to take more exercise. Although, I have always had sleep problems, it is vital that decisions are taken now to protect against the potential consequences of long term sleep loss.

As mentioned above, I’ve done some reading this week and from a reliable and sound information source. The results of a lack of sleep are worrying and especially adding on a daily routine that can only succeed with the support of good sleep then the answers are very clear. It’s far too easy to leave things too long; the important thing is to realise that now is the future and now should be the time to do something positive.

I’m coming round to this. Well, on we go with another week and I hope a better sleep routine.

About Ian Beverley

I live in West Yorkshire UK and I like to share some of the things that have and are happening in my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment