BULLYING SHOULD NEVER WIN

BULLYING NEVER WINS

The intention of this blog is to be a positive and realistic reflection on the experiences that I have and on the day to day journey of life and everything else that surrounds it. After all, I would certainly consider myself to be a happy and positive person, but I’ve also got my feet firmly set within a good base of reality.

One of the wonderful aspects of life is that we all don’t share the same opinions and outlooks. Too much of this does make things a little dull and although not agreeing on things, it is great to hear alternative opinions and experiences. Sadly, I have noted one particular movement recently which espouses the good tennit of positive thought and attitude, but it dismisses and degrades the right of anybody to have any opinions apart from their own. This, in many senses, is a form a bullying because it basically says, if you don’t think and act like me then you are wrong and you are nothing. Well, the beauty of life is the difference of opinion and experience, it is having the chance to reflect, laugh, cry, express emotion and be yourself. Yes, there are limits in the sense that opinions shouldn’t necessarily degrade the worth and value of others, but being yourself is so important and not having the fear of expressing that is so crucial.

Throughout my life, I have experienced bullying to varying degrees. At school, this was in the form of physical intimidation from another pupil; this thankfully stopped because I stood up for myself – something that many in this position cannot always do. When I was involved in competitive sport, I was bullied by someone used very oppressive psychelogical intimidation to devalue the way I felt about myself. I dealt with this by turning away from a sport that I loved and valued greatly (I was glad that I had the opportunity to go back and address this).

Bullying can also take the form of a bad reaction to a decision that you take to support the way you want to lead your life. Your true friends will always understand why you take a particular decision because they want you to be happy and comfortable in the way you pursue your interests. Life, as we always say, is short and its important to make the most of every moment. Sadly, I have still experienced times where a decision is made and another person tries to make you feel bad and guilty about taking it. I have one of these to come but the strength must be there to overcome the reaction that will doubtless come with it. Why should I have to feel this way?

About Ian Beverley

I live in West Yorkshire UK and I like to share some of the things that have and are happening in my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment