HOLIDAY NO CHOICE

Before getting onto the topic of holidays, I’d like to say a big thanks to those who have made me so welcome at work. It’s been a bit of a roller coaster of a time recently, but it’s great to be back to my old work stomping ground (so to speak) and to feel much happier going on the daily commute – although I’ve my iPad and collection of e-books to thanks for the latter improvement hahaha.

This particular blog article was going to be about the 5 guide dogs that I’ve had over the last 25 years. Yep, I’m marking, recognising and okay even celebrating 25 years of being a guide dog owner; something that I’m pretty well proud of. Hopefully, there are plenty more years to come.

Anyway, this time, I’m turning my attention to holidays; although I’ve only just come back from one. As totally blind people, we face a bit of a problem in terms of the choice we have in terms of where to go. We have tended to go to the same places for the last number of years because they’re familiar, we know our way around and the services they provide – i.e. excursions and facilities have near enough met our needs. However, this doesn’t mean that we wouldn’t like to visit other parts of the country. In fact, we have a fairly sizable bucket list of places that we are keen to visit and experience. However, without knowing an area and facing the problem of seeing if hotels are accessible let alone how we can get around say in the Scottish highlands or along the Cornish coastline, then prospects of such holidays become more onerous and akin to a military operation.

We have, to test the ground, approached places like the national railway museum in York to see what facilities and support are available for us to visit and get the most out of the venue. We were, safe to say, flatly refused and told that we needed carers to come to the museum; something that we’ve never had.

Like many other people, we want to exercise choice in where we go and where we visit. Yes, there are practical considerations, but ones that surely can be overcome with some thought and understanding. When Britain says that it is open to all; it doesn’t highlight the small print that comes with that (as long as you have a responsible adult with you).

I’ll keep trying to probe away in trying to find accessible holiday choices as there is a lot to see and visit within the UK; certainly a lot to celebrate.

All experiences welcome as we’d love to learn from and hear about other totally blind peoples experiences of accessing holiday opportunities within the UK.

About Ian Beverley

I live in West Yorkshire UK and I like to share some of the things that have and are happening in my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment